Disappointing

Game: fortythieves
Game #: 1997798926

I have just found this game on the web I desperately needed to replace Mike Sedore's amazing Forty Thieves that I have played for more than 25 years. This is however a poor replacement, completely joyless non intuitive but most of all no FUN I've read the rules and the super rules (non of which work on a Mac with Track Pad) so guys if I'm doing it all wrong please help.
As a newbie I'm always ready to listen I just want to enjoy.
Mike

Comments

• I'm not sure that I understand what it is about the Green Felt version of this game that makes it "completely joyless" and "non-intuitive". I've also never heard of the version you cite and therefore cannot compare it with GF's version, but I'm wondering if it implemented some one-off variant of the standard game. Forty Thieves is a solitaire variant with a low chance of winning - about 6.5%. The specific game you cited shows no winners in the High Scores - which is the norm, given the difficulty of winning. Joyful is not an adjective I would ever use when describing the experience of playing it.

I have difficulty with the notion of any solitaire game being described as intuitive. To me, that word means something that requires little or no explanation - and no solitaire game I know fits that description. A bunch of playing cards arranged in a particular pattern without knowing the rules of the game isn't something I'd ordinarily want to tackle.

What is it, precisely, that you are complaining about? What did the other version of the game do that GF's does not?

• What choo talkin' bout Willis? Thought you were talking about varmints

• daviddavid REGISTERED, ADMINISTRATORS

@midorosan, Both Jim and I use Macs with trackpads to create Green Felt. "Right click" on a trackpad is usually a "two finger" click. But you may have to enable that in the System Preferences (under Trackpad—"Alternate click").